#ReadThemAllThon: A TBR of Epic Proportions

Read at Midnight’s new read-a-thon, inspired by Pokémon Go, looks so exciting! I didn’t play Pokémon as a child – I had no consoles and no pocket money to buy the cards with. But I admired from afar and recently I’ve been enjoying catching Pokemon, hatching eggs, and walking 20 minutes uphill to loiter at my nearest Pokestop.

At first I thought I’d have to fill the challenges with a few re-reads, but a thorough hunt of my TBR shelves turned up an unread pile I’m actually quite thrilled with.

First up, I made myself a trainer card for my companion of choice, the very fitting Dratini.

tbd-pokemon
Of course it had to be a dragon! Niantic own Pokémon & Aentee of Read at Midnight’s own card inspired me. 🙂

And now, the books I’m taking into battle. 

readthemallthon-badge01-boulder

Throne of Glass has been lying on my shelves for a while. I could have read it for Vermillion City, but I happen to own very few first books of a series. I’ve been putting it off because if the hype, but it’s time. 406 pages means  a total +60 cp upon completion. 

readthemallthon-badge02-cascader

A General Theory of Oblivion was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize this year. I loved Agualusa’s The Book of Chameleons so I have high hopes. It’s about an Angolan woman who bricks herself in her apartment for 30 years. If that isn’t enough to make me cry, the books she burns to keep warm might nudge it over the edge. 240 pages equals +44 cp when it’s done.

readthemallthon-badge03-thunder

I think I’m pretty hilarious choosing Macbeth for this. But who has more hype than Shakespeare? Considering my edition is only 100 pages, I might change my mind. As it stands, a total of +30 cp and that post-classics pride isn’t a bad reward.

readthemallthon-badge04-rainbow

If I could read the glorious False Hearts again I would, but since I only read it 2 weeks ago I’ve opted for the second of Jeff Vandermeer’s Southern Reach series, Authority. The first book was completely creepy, the second shines some light on the four women who ventured into the mysterious Area X, and we learn that pretty much everyone in this series is a person of color. 340 pages + completion = +54 cp.

readthemallthon-badge05-soul

The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro is not an obvious choice for this one, but I still haven’t read my signed copy and I feel guilty about it. The book follows a middle-aged (I think) married couple who seek out to find a long-lost son. Right now I’d rather read about established couples than bright young things falling in love. 345 pages, +54 cp.

readthemallthon-badge06-marsh

Spoiled for choice, I considered a lot of books before I landed on Wicked by Gregory Maguire. I saw the musical in London a month ago and I’m desperate to start reading the book! I’m ready to be changed for good.  Plus, it’s 495 pages, so +69 cp for me.

readthemallthon-badge07-flame

It may be difficult to get the beautiful red cover of The End of Mr Y now, but I picked it up a couple of years ago. I haven’t been able to make it past 50 pages on previous attempts, but I’m going to give it one last chance. 502 pages make it the longest book and the biggest potential score: +70 cp for finishing.

readthemallthon-badge08-earth

I’d forgotten I own Oryx and Crake, in a first-edition, yellowed, neon-green hardback with creepy pink bunnies all over. We find the narrator sleeping in trees, rummaging for supplies in a wasteland. I feel this may be the toughest to get through, but the +57cp for reading all 374 pages will be worth it.

So, a potential 438 CP gain for my beloved Dratini, and a varied and thrilling TBR pile for me. August 14th can’t come soon enough.

p.s. thanks Aentee for letting us use your beautiful graphics!

13 thoughts on “#ReadThemAllThon: A TBR of Epic Proportions

  1. Thanks so much for joining the challenge, Chloe!! I love your TBR pile, it’s filled of things I want to read for myself 💕 Good luck evolving your Dratini into a mighty Dragonite!

    Like

  2. I’m still deciding on my TBR but might add Authority as an option too! I was enthralled by Annihilation but still haven’t read the sequels. Oryx and Crake is one of my favourite books – very strange & dystopic but it was one of the first speculative fiction books I read, so I still love it.

    Like

    • I read the first 20 pages or so of Authority and it’s so much different, almost feels like a different genre. Not in the writing style so much, but settings and character interactions. It’s a really interesting direction to take.

      That makes me a bit more optimistic about getting through Oryx & Crake! I do love the edition I have.

      Like

  3. I caught a Dratini the other day!! I was so happy!!

    Throne of Glass and The Buried Giant are both on my TBR shelf as well, and my copy of The Buried Giant was an ARC so I’m really feeling terrible for not having read it yet haha.

    Goodluck getting through those books and evolving that Dratini! 😊

    Like

  4. I hope you love Throne of Glass! The series just keeps getting better with every book 🙂 This challenge is going to be so much fun I can’t wait to make a dint in my TBR pile XD

    Like

  5. You have so many great book choices on here! I read The End of Mr. Y earlier this year and thought it was really strange and creative; I ended up really enjoying it. Loved Oryx and Crake and Authority as well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

